Sign in to follow this  
Dospro

Rotate an object from its center

Dospro    257
Hi. Im new in this 3D world using Direc3D and i have a couple of doubts. First, i have a triangle strip of for vertices(a square) qhich i mapped with a texture. So in the main loop where i begin/end/present the scene i also put something liek this: i=i+0.001; if(i>360) i=0; D3DXMatrixRotationZ(&world, D3DXToDegree(i)); d3ddev->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &world); Which will make a smooth rotating effect. The problem is the it rotates around the center of the screen and i want it rotate at the ceter of the poligon, what do i have to do?. Also, i ave a weird doubt. In the same example i have 8 vertices which form 4 triangle strips (2 sqares) which one is behind the other, how can i do to mkae one rotates and the other stays without roting? Im using Direct3D and Direct3DX

jyk    2094
I don't know much D3D, but you want to create a translation matrix as well, and multiply it with your rotation matrix. Pseudocode:

Matrix rotation, translation, transform;
RotationMatrixZ(&rotation, angle);
TranslationMatrix(&translation, x, y, z);
MatrixMult(&rotation, &translation, &transform);
SetTransform(&transform);
RenderQuad();

matches81    474
to rotate the polygon around it´s center you´ll have to first translate it, so that it´s center lays on the 'world' origin, because rotations are always performed around the world origin.
So you would have to build a translation matrix like that:

M = T1 * R * T2,
where T2 moves your polygon back to world origin, R rotates it, and T1 moves it back in it´s place. You then can use M as translation matrix and that should do the trick.

jyk    2094