Linux as a gateway

Started by
9 comments, last by Shannon Barber 18 years, 9 months ago
Is there a linux distro that would lend itself particularly well to acting as a gateway? I've been running a Slackware gateway machine for about four years, and while it served me well, it was a pain to initially get up and running and has recently gone kaput on me. Rather than spending the time to refresh my memory on the nightmare that is ipchains to try to fix what's broke, I'd rather just do a clean install with something running the supposedly simpler iptables. IIRC, a real sticking point in setting it up the first time was getting linux to recognize the second ethernet card. For a temporary solution to my routing problems, I put a second ethernet card in one of my other Linux boxes (running a more recent distro), and again it wasn't simple. There was seemingly much random behavior as to which card was eth0 and which was eth1, and which would connect to my ISP's DHCP server and which would only connect to the internal network. I'm not looking for help with those individual problems (at least not now), I mention this because I'm curious if this is a common complaint, and if so, is there a distro which makes the two network card set-up easier? On a side note, as I was playing with configuring the two network cards, I kept rebooting to make sure the changes were affected. I recall running across some Linux command that could just shut down and bring back up networking services, rather than the whole system. Anybody know what I'm talking about?
Advertisement
I don't feel qualified to answer your first question (though I haven't had a problem with 2 ethernet cards in a machine), but:

Quote:Original post by BerwynIrish