Sign in to follow this  
celestis_genesis

OpenGL Starting with OpenGL

Hello everyone, I'm fairly new to using OpenGL (and game development in general, actually), and I have a few questios. I know this post would be better off in the Beginners forum, but I feel that more experienced people will be able to answer fastrer :D Anyway, here's my questions list: 1) In the OpenGL forum FAQ, there are links given to the BlueBook, and the RedBook. The BlueBook link doesn't work anymore, and the RedBook links to a manual for version 1.0 ...so, does anyone know where I could find updated versions of these two books? 2) I'm actually trying to develop a game with graphics close to commercial quality, so...I think i should use something past OpenGL 1.1 (I'm developing on a Windows XP). What would be a good manual (besides the one provided in the "Game Programming: Tricks of teh Trade" book)? 3) Are there any benefits in developing OpenGL games on a non-Windows platform? Like, getting the latest libraries or something? 4) Does anyone have a sample code to get me started with using OpenGL? (Yeah, I know there's NeHe's tutorials, but I think they're a bit outdated....but then again, I'm fairly new to this, so I just might be talking out of my ass here) Thanks in advance.

Sneftel    1788
Quote:
Original post by celestis_genesis
Hello everyone,

I'm fairly new to using OpenGL (and game development in general, actually), and I have a few questios. I know this post would be better off in the Beginners forum, but I feel that more experienced people will be able to answer fastrer :D

Posting questions in the wrong forum for your own convenience will make people ignore and/or flame you. Fair warning. I won't move your post this time, since a couple of these questions aren't quite "For Beginners"-level.
Quote: