Sign in to follow this  
Nodlehs

Question about threading and sockets.

I have been an application programmer for a while now, and am now in my spare time messing around with some game ideas. Having been a fan of many a MUD I thought I would tackle that as a stepping stone to something more graphically intense. I am writing this from scratch, and already have plenty of code from other projects I can resuse for this project. My main concern is the threading and socket aspects of the project. I haven't had any experience in socket coding before but have managed to put together my own little library for it which I think functions quite well. I have read the forum faq, I was most interested in the thread per connection idea, and I also had the misgivings it points out that I would end up blocking a lot, lots of useless context switches as well. I still want to use threads, and was wondering what common practice is? I was thinking of using 1 thread to process a queue of commands from users, a second to listen for incoming connections, and a third to read/send data from a fd_set. Each player would have in its struct a list of data to send back, commands recieved from the players socket would be inserted in the command queue for thread 1. I know I would need to lock the command queue on each command recieved from a player, as well as lock the player struct on each command that affected a player. Is this a good design? or is there really no reason to break it up into threads? Any ideas/comments on the design would be much appreciated.

separate working layer into follow

1. network event dispatching layer [ receiving, accept, error control ]
this layer maybe IOCP or select threading and accept threading

2. network send layer
if unix style platform, multiple threading consists of send scheduling

3. problem domain [ main logic ] worker layer
synchronizing message queueing
multiple worker threading [ process login/logout/chatting/moving/attack ]