Code it yourself or use a Scene graph?

Started by
11 comments, last by sirGustav 18 years, 9 months ago
Hello everybody? I have a question to ask. I am really confused over coding my programs myself from scratch or using a Scene graph or game engine or graphic engine?! Does it worth to become master in one of the Scene graphs or it would be better to code everything yourself and have your own graphic engine, which does everything for you? Imagine you have 1 year, which one would you choose considering I have 3 years OpenGl experience (Hobby programmer). I want to enter professional world.
OpenGl + C++
Advertisement
If you want to be a professional developer then code it yourself. But there's no shame in using other people's engines to figure out how they designed things and how their code works. Its always best to learn from other people's mistakes rather than make your own when it comes to things like design and structure.
Author Freeworld3Dhttp://www.freeworld3d.org
Quote:Original post by bargasteh
I am really confused over coding my programs myself from scratch or using a Scene graph or game engine or graphic engine?!
Does it worth to become master in one of the Scene graphs or it would be better to code everything yourself and have your own graphic engine, which does everything for you?

A good programmer is someone who can leverage existing assets. Use existing code if you can, and code something yourself if you must. This is how it works in the industry - time is money.

For learning purposes however, doing everything yourself is always a good idea, as it will give you the understanding and know-how you'll need later on.
Therfore you guys are suggesting that I choose a free graphic engine and then enhance it in order to fullfil my needs?
That sounds great.
What do you guys think about OGRE engine? any idea ?
Is it powerful enough to start with?
OpenGl + C++