Sign in to follow this  
Ryam BaCo

z-buffer example for newbie...for...me...

hi all! i'm new here and really looking forward to post with you in the future. aye, so much for introduction. ;) now...my problem...i started learning directx in c++ and i'm going through an small example about my new friend z-buffer yet. so my new good old friend direct3d draws two quadrangles (made out of triangles...i know), one rotating along the y-axis, one rotating along the z-axis. so here are the important parts of the example: here are the vertices, 6 for the first quadrangle, 4 for the second one... sVertex Verts[10] = { { -100.0f, -100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(255,0,0,255) }, { -100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(255,0,0,255) }, { 100.0f, -100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(255,0,0,255) }, { 100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(255,0,0,255) }, { -100.0f, -100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(255,0,0,255) }, { -100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(255,0,0,255) }, { -100.0f, -100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(0,0,255,255) }, { -100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(0,0,255,255) }, { 100.0f, -100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(0,0,255,255) }, { 100.0f, 100.0f, 0.0f, D3DCOLOR_RGBA(0,0,255,255) }, }; and here's the rendering-rotation-stuff: // Create and set the world transformation matrix // for first four primitives. Rotate along Y-axis. D3DXMatrixRotationY(&matWorld, (float)timeGetTime() / 1000.0f); g_pD3DDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matWorld); // Draw first four polygons g_pD3DDevice->DrawPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLESTRIP, 0, 4); // Draw next four polygons, but rotate on Z-axis D3DXMatrixRotationZ(&matWorld, -(float)timeGetTime() / 1000.0f); g_pD3DDevice->SetTransform(D3DTS_WORLD, &matWorld); g_pD3DDevice->DrawPrimitive(D3DPT_TRIANGLESTRIP, 6, 2); oh...and here's my question: why can't i build the first quadrangle (the one rotating along the y-axis) out of 2 triangles (...and 4 vertices)? why do i have to use 4 triangles (...and 6 vertices)? i don't understand why i have to use these 2 additional vertices fo