• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
1stMan

Running a program

This topic is 4875 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a real beginner and I'm sorry for the level of question this is, but I have a problem running some code. I copied the code from a website that said this: "...we have included a small program written in "C". If you have a C compiler, try it out. It is a complete working program." I've tried running the code and just can't get it to work? Can somebody please help? I've put the code below. Thanks. #include "stdio.h" #define MaxIters 200 #define SIZE 80 #define BLACK -1 #define LEFT -2.0 #define RIGHT 1.0 #define TOP 1.0 #define BOTTOM -1.0 main(int argc, char *argv[]) { short x, y, count; long double zr, zi, cr, ci; long double rsquared, isquared; for (y = 0; y < SIZE; y++) { for (x = 0; x < SIZE; x++) { zr = 0.0; zi = 0.0; cr = LEFT + x * (RIGHT - LEFT) / SIZE; ci = TOP + y * (BOTTOM - TOP) / SIZE; rsquared = zr * zr; isquared = zi * zi; for (count = 0; rsquared + isquared <= 4.0 && count < MaxIters; count++) { zi = zr * zi * 2; zi += ci; zr = rsquared - isquared; zr += cr; rsquared = zr * zr; isquared = zi * zi; } if (rsquared + isquared <= 4.0) printf("*"); else printf(" "); } printf("\n"); } return 0; }

Advertisement
What compiler are you using? The message almost looks likie it says it wrote it to your C drive and now you need a C compiler to finish it. Knowing the compiler your using would be great. [grin]

I can't really see anything wrong with the syntax. Can you give us the errors your getting? Or does the program just crash?

--Ter'Lenth

I'm running it in Visual Studio.

The errors are:

LIBCD.lib(wincrt0.obj) : error LNK2001: unresolved external symbol _WinMain@16

&

Debug/fractal2.exe : fatal error LNK1120: 1 unresolved externals
Error executing link.exe.