• Advertisement

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

TheDuderino

DirectX Landscaping

This topic is 6407 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am trying to build a sort of landscape engine.. this is my first attempt and i dont know exactly how i should set it up. I know there are meshes and i believe this would work well.. right? I think this is much more effecient than making everything out of seperate triangles.. but im not sure.. Also with a mesh can you blend textures together.. such as blending one texture into another in a single triangle or blending one texture directly on top of another triangle. I am doing this stuff with dx8 right now.. An just need some pointers about how about would be a good way to do this.. For now i will play with learning how textures work.. thanks, Russ

Advertisement
This is such a huge topic. No doubt it''s the reason for all your replies

If you''re just starting, you might want to use a very simple method: a triangle mesh. I can''t tell you how to do this in DX because I use OpenGL. But basically it goes like this:

-on paper draw a large square.
-break the square up into an equal amount of rows and columns.
-break each smaller square once into a triangle.

There is your triangle mesh. How do you define the vertices in 3D space? Pretend your map is laying flat on the XZ axis in whatever quadrant you prefer. Each column line on your map is a constant offset from 0 in the X direction. Each row line is a constant offset from 0 in the Z direction.

How you put that information into a mesh object will depend on your API.