Sign in to follow this  
GenuineXP

Using SDL with Code::Blocks

GenuineXP    262
I recently downloaded the Code::Blocks IDE. I don't own MS Visual Studio or any other commercial IDE/compiler and I previously used Dev-C++. I really liked Code::Blocks' interface after I tried it and decided to use it instead. I'm trying to learn SDL. :-) I can't get it to work with Code::Blocks though! I went to the SDL website and downloaded the SDL 1.2.8 developement libraries for MingW32, but I can't extract anything from the MingW32 file (I've tried Winzip and WinAce)! I checked the pages for SDL 1.0.8, but they only offer developement libraries for Visual C++. Code::Blocks can use a variety of compilers, so I installed Microsoft Visual C++ Toolkit 2003 and tried copying the files from the SDL 1.2.8 dev. libraries for Visual C++ into the "lib" and "include" directories of the VC++ Toolkit, but now I get strange linker errors. I'm still a C++ novice so any help would be greatly appriciated! Currently I'm receiving the following error after copying SDL 1.0.8 files into the VC++ Toolkit directories and trying to compile with the VC++ Toolkit compiler: File Line Message LINK fatal error LNK1181: cannot open input file 'SDL.obj' What should I do...? By the way, I'm using the SDL project template in Code::Blocks to try to get this to work, so the error probably isn't in the code. [Edited by - GenuineXP on July 17, 2005 7:13:49 PM]

walle    478
Does code::blocks use the same .a lib files as dev-c++ tried to use them...but I got alot of errors...tried to compile the SDL source in code::blocks too...didn't get it to work, but thats probobly my own fault...

smr    2468
Quote:
Original post by walle
Does code::blocks use the same .a lib files as dev-c++ tried to use them...but I got alot of errors...tried to compile the SDL source in code::blocks too...didn't get it to work, but thats probobly my own fault...