Sign in to follow this  
Choix

Pure Novice. Looking For Engine/Network Info.

Choix    122
Okay I found this site a while ago but have only recently had the time to follow up on what I wanted to produce. Basically I’m setting my sights small but I want to make sure I do it all correctly the way a real company would go about it, for example using the right engine for the job. I have built allot of static objects and character models etc in 3DStudio max and now its time I want to put it all together in a virtual world. Now this is where I struggle you see on the art side I’m quite confident in my skills but I have no knowledge of anything to do with engines and networking etc. First of all I want to know a suitable engine for a MMORPG I don’t expect the scale of 1000's may be only a few of my close friends will ever connect but the point is I want it to have that potential if that is possible since that is how the game itself would work with ALOT of players. I know that these MMORPG's run on a client and a server I don’t know what specifically they involve or if it’s possible on any public engines to achieve this the way these companies do, (As you can see I am a great novice at anything on the programming or network side). However how little I do know I am very willing to learn I mean seriously if you guys know anything you must have learned it from somewhere right? So I’m asking for you to point me to where you learned it or share your knowledge and may be show me some possibilities on engines to use etc. Note: I remember reading about Torque it kind of looked nice but they advertised there networking to be that of a few hundred I’m not sure if this can be modified since when you buy Torque you get the source code but as you have guessed by now I personally wouldn’t know where to begin. Another thing is there surely must be some guides about for these engines since I find it very hard to belive every one out there is making there game by trial and error.