Sign in to follow this  
Tokage

C++ and C#

I've been writing Windows games in C++ for several years now, and I've just recently taken the time to start looking into the .NET framework. I picked up C# failry quickly (it isn't exactly hard) and I've been pondering a switch. So, my question to those of you with the experience to answer the question: What are the advantages of using the .NET framework when compared to writing native code? Is it slower in any appreciable way? If I do decide to switch to .NET, should I also switch to C#?

Or C++/CLX (that may not be what it's called -- I can't remember).

I personally feel C# and C++ are both convenient for different things. C# is best for Windows based applications in my opinion; C++ is good when you need lots of low-level control, or just need to squeeze literally every ounce of speed possible (unlikely).

Other than that, though there are valid arguments why C# or C++ are better for any given task, neither is considerably better than the other, so I think it's a matter of opinion.

If you like C# better, use it.

If you like C++ better, use it instead.

You're never going to get a clear answer about x vs. y language. [smile]

But why not use C++.NET?
.NET is very convenient if you can afford Visual Studio. You have access to an extensive common library of useful functions that are compatible between the .NET languages.

Quote:
Original post by Tokage
What are the advantages of using the .NET framework when compared to writing native code?