Sign in to follow this  

Complete n00b Guide (3dsmax 7)

This topic is 4515 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi, i've just got this program (3d Studio Max 7) and am looking to learn some of it's basic features and was wondering if anyone knows of any locations for a complete n00b guide to the 3d studio max series, or specifically version 7. I'm looking for something that tells you what basic tools do to start me off modeling. I have some experience modeling, but only in Bryce and Hammer (half-life mapping program), so i kinda know what i'm doing, but the interface for max is new to me, so any help offered is greatly appreciated. I eventually want to go onto texturing in max, not so much modeling, but i think learning modeling will help that goal in the long run. I'm greatly experienced at Photoshop etc, so no need to learn anything to do with that as far as texturing goes, incase someone wanted to point that out. I've also found some tutorials for the above, but nothing that i'd consider "n00b" standard, and i have also checked "www.google.com" incase someone felt like directing me there ;) I'm also aware that 3dsmax might not be the best program to start out with, when learning the above, but i'm also the kind of person who learns fast and catches on to the basics of programs fast, usually without tutorials, but all modeling programs i've tried in the past have always been beyond me in terms of the trial and error approach to learning a program. Thanks for any help offer (that is actually useful) ;)

You're unlikely to find a good tutorial for 3ds max 7, simply because most people who are n00bs are unlikely to plop down hundreds of dollars for a modelling program. Doesn't it come with a "getting started" DVD, though?