3d game engine programming book

Started by
15 comments, last by FireNet 18 years, 9 months ago
Hi , I am a student and a hobbyist j2me 2d game developer for mobiles.I want to start developing 3d games for mobile (with java).I want to get some fundamental grasp on 3d graphics & game programming concepts and game engine design. I find two books on amazon.com 1.3D game engine architecture by David E. Eberly 2.3D game engine design by David E. Eberly Both has great reviews I looked in Table of contents ...and more or less both books seems to be same to me. I will appreciate if someone could tell me which of these 2 books explain 3d games engine concepts better or say which is better for me(I want a general book explaining all the concepts,as I'll be coding in java so book should not be much specific to C++ it should be more of concept explaining not full of C or C++ codes). Please help me . Thanks Alot
Advertisement
I can't help you but I was just wandering if todays mobile phones are already powerful enough to run real 3D games?
Never heard of either of those books, but there is a 3D Java book here. You can buy the published version from O'Reilly or just read the free one on the site.
-------------------------------See my tutorial site: Click here
Those two books are the best you will possibly find on the subject, as David Eberly was an architect on the NDL NetImmerse engine (Morrowwind? Dark Age of Camelot? etc) and has degrees in both math and computer science.

The first book 'Game Engine Design' gives you the fundamental building blocks and mathematics for building a game engine. The second one 'Game Engine Architecture' gives more implementation and shows how specific parts function together.

I highly recommend both as I wouldn't be a graphics programmer here at work if I hadn't read those books hehe :) Although if you are looking for 'cut n paste engine' over learning the mathematics, design, and core concepts than obviously these would be a waste.