• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Opwiz

API-independent vertex buffer

This topic is 4899 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I got an idea for vertex buffer management in my 3d engine and I would like to know what you think. As I've got little experience actually using vertex buffers this design might be way off. My API-independent vertex buffer class will look something like this:
public class VertexBuffer
{
	private int bufferIndex;
	private int offset;
	private VertexBufferOptions options;
	private bool needUpdate;
	private bool init;
	private object[] vertex;
}

When e.g. my direct3d renderer is told to use a certain vertex buffer it first checks if it has been initialized (indicated by the init flag) and if not the vertices are stored in hardware (unless the options specifies software usage), the direct3d renderer has a list of direct3d vertex buffers and attempts to put the vertex data in one of them or creates a new one if necessary. The renderer sets the bufferIndex and offset variables that indicates which direct3d vertex buffer and where the vertex data is stored at. The needUpdate flag indicates if the vertices stored in software has been updated and need to be reloaded into hardware. A copy of the vertices is always kept in software which may or may not be inefficient (you'll need a copy of the data anyway if the device is lost right?). If a single vertex is updated all vertices are reloaded into hardware which also might be inefficient (a solution might be to keep track of the indexes of the vertices that has been updated). Any comments?

Advertisement
I am in the same dilemma as you are. And I have thought alot on how to solve the platform independent Vertex Buffer.