• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Midnight8x

I'm an artist, I want to make a 2D fighting game, but I can't program...

This topic is 4889 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

(my first post here) Hey all, I'm an artist, I do drawing (pencil/pen etc.) painting, and also digital drawing and painting (both bitmap and vector image files). However, my one problem is I'm very weak on the programming side. I suck at programming to put it better. So, any advice as to how I can go about making a 2D fighting game where art skills are more important? =p I really want to make a simple 2D fighting game, I just need someone to point me in the right direction, thanks!

Advertisement
Hello, welcome to GameDev!

You could learn to program, but if you're not motivated or not interested you probably won't get too far. What you could do is try to find a team to help you, instead of doing all the work yourself, and provide your services as an artist.

You may find yourself set up for future projects if you do a good job first time round. Try Gamedev's very own Help Wanted section - just be sure to follow the template as laid out in the sticky.

STOP PRESS: There's a team looking for an artist right now.

I wish you all the best of luck in the future, enjoy!

ukdeveloper.

Another option is to use some sort of easy game creation software. This ranges from Clickteam's offerings, which are almost entirely drag'n'drop, to more advanced solutions involving script such as DarkBasic, BlitzBasic, etc. This page has an excellent, though long, list of resources to help you build a game even if you aren't a programmer.