• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jewishchainsaw

whats a good toolkit for creating good 2-d games?

This topic is 4895 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm self taught, working in java with gridbag right now. (Finnally fixed all the proportioin errors in my current program, apparently java fully expects you to go through each and every component and set the preferred and minimum size manually.) While java is pretty cool all by itself, i know if i want to make more sophisticated 2-d games i am going to need something else. I am also learning that because java is somewhat slow, most games are programmed in C++. I downloaded Visual Studio .NET from a university friend, but so far it is proving to be less than useless, i don't really know how to use J# with it, and Visual Basic is like greek to me, since i have know idea how or even if object oriented programming works with it. I am pretty sure i can get a decent C++ compiler and a copy of VB 6.0 (Which apparently has a good tutorial in its documentation) from a couple of friends. C++ isn't that different from java, and i would like to learn how to use it without having to start from scratch. I think the thing i really need to learn are pointers, since java doesn't have pointers. I also need to know, what is a good jumping off point from using java's AWT and Swing files? My friend was talking about open GL, but i was wondering if i needed to know C++ first. Are there any other tools or things i need to or should know?

Advertisement