• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Zimans

Singletons, Class Factories, and cyclic dependencies

This topic is 4861 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I'm a much better C programmer than C++, but i'm trying. As is everyone else i'm working on my game engine. My quandry is getting pointers to objects that need em the 'right' way. I've started by passing pointers thru functions, but that is sarting to get rediculous. For instance I have a class CConsoleLog (C is for Core class, not class :P ). Just about every class needs to see this as that is my logging mechanism. Not only that it would have to basically be passed into every function. I contemplated letting a class hold on to a pointer to the class, but that seems like a bad idea. Not only do I have to pass Logging, but File System to resource classes, as well as the display for DirectX stuff, etc. An option would be to create a container class that holds on to the pointers for all these core classes, but i still end up passing a class pointer EVERYWHERE. This is just screaming to be a gloabl, but everyone in the C++ world seems to chant "Globals are evil". As I dig around the singleton is another approach to this problem. But even that seems to have two camps for and against. If I was doing this in good'ol C all of my classes would essentially be source files with their associated file local variables and functions. Only the needed functions would be visible outside file scope and anything could use them from anywheres provided the proper header is included. I've also had some cyclic problems. To solve that i've been breaking classes into seperate classes. Again the Logging/Console comes to mind. Just about every object needs to write to the log, but the console also needs to access certain core classes (for input, and rendering). I've split these up, but I still have