• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
-justin-

animation tutorial (c and dx)

This topic is 4864 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I think I might have posted something about this before but I'm still quite clueless. I would like to get a tutorial on animation as I'm not quite sure how to do it... Yes I know how to animate an image... I'm talking about moving a character around with various animation states. Like idle, walking1, walking2, walking will firing... etc I get the general idea but I'd like a more thorough explanation. I'm using direct3d (more specifically D3DXSPRITE) and of course C.

Advertisement
i thought u can use some programm like 3dmax to do the animation then put it into the game :D. Can some1 confirm that?? Im a noob as well :D

You're talking about 2D animation, right Justin? If so, you're probably not going to want to use D3DXSPRITE, as it is pretty limiting (from my understanding).

I talked about setting up an animation system a while back here (it starts a little off topic, but gets there after a bit).

Take a read and let me know if you get the idea or not.

Matt Hughson

Quote:
Original post by Tutukun
i thought u can use some programm like 3dmax to do the animation then put it into the game :D. Can some1 confirm that?? Im a noob as well :D

Yeah that's the idea for 3D stuff.

hmm, yea sorry i didn't clarify; yes i'm talking about 2d

i know how to output an image, i know how to animate using D3DXSPRITE; however, i'm not sure how to do gamestates

i have been thinking about it though and thought of a function like this:

animatePerson(int lastFrame, int nextFrame, int startFrame, int option)

i dunno, i'm just quite confused... if any1 could post some of the ideas they've used i'd be appreciative (or as asked before a tutorial would ROCK)