• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Antrim

Fullscreen Mode and Boost smart pointers

This topic is 4895 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I decided to try and learn to use some things out of boost while I was working on my DirectX app, and came across a problem with the scoped_ptr. Since I've never used them before, it could just be that I was using the wrong type, or possibly I'm just using it somewhere that a smart pointer doesn't belong. Anyway, my problem is this...I decided to use a global scoped_ptr for my Game class (the one that inits, runs, logic, etc....everything). I coded enough to get my window, Direct3D, and DirectInput working and have the window printing out some stats for me (fps and such). Once this was all working, I tried to test the fullscreen mode, and the program crashed out before fullscreen even toggled. After testing out different things, I found that the crash was occuring in my call to create the D3DDevice. I tested a few other things, to make sure that the Windowed parameter was the only thing causing the crash. After narrowing it down to that, and being completly stumped, I switched from the scoped_ptr to a regular pointer, and all of a sudden, it worked just fine. So what I'm wondering is, does something happen when direct3d transitions to fullscreen mode that is causing the scoped_ptr to be removed? Or is there something else that I'm overlooking? Thanks for any insight, Antrim

Advertisement
You've been doing something wrong. A global scoped_ptr will be destroyed when your application's shutting down, not when switching fullscreen. Where exactly was the crash occuring when you were using scoped_ptr's? In the CreateDevice/Reset call?