• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Maytridy

Code problem...(beginner's question)

This topic is 4830 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys, Before I say anything, I'd just like to let you guys know that I'm a total newb and I have no programming experience whatsoever. I just purchased Beginning C++ Programming by Michael Dawson today, and I just completed chapter one. I was doing the last exercise, which was to write a program that took 3 scores and gave the average. It's all working well, except when I enter the 3rd score, the console just closes immediately. The same thing happens when I enter my name into Michael's "Lost Fortune" program. I thought at first that I made an error in my code, but when I couldn't find it I took a look at Michael's and his did the same thing. Do you guys have any idea what's going on?? Here's my code:
#include <iostream>
#include <string>

using std::cout;
using std::cin;
using std::endl;
using std::string;

int main()
{
    int score_1, score_2, score_3,;
    string you;

cout << "Please enter your name ";
    cin >> you;

cout << "Please give me your first score: ";
    cin >> score_1;

cout << "Please give me your second score: ";
    cin >> score_2;

cout << "Please give me your third score: ";
    cin >> score_3;

cout << you << "has an average of " << (score_1 + score_2 + score_3) / 3 << "Yay!";

cout << "\nPress Enter to exit!";
    cin.ignore(cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 1);

return 0;
}

P.S.: I included the
cout << "\nPress Enter to exit!";
    cin.ignore(cin.rdbuf()->in_avail() + 1);

because Michael said that it would prevent the program from performing the calculations then automatically closing, but it doesn't seem to work. If you guys could spot the problem, that would be great! Thanks in advance!

Advertisement