Programming Difference in 32 vs 64 bit

Started by
16 comments, last by Mas0n 18 years, 8 months ago
I've been reading the book C++ Primers 4th edition for a while now. The whole book never goes into Win32 stuff. I really don't know much about it at all so bear with me. Will there be a difference between 32 bit and 64 bit programming wise, when Microsoft's new os comes out. Because I heard Longhorn is going to be 64 bit. Does that mean we would be programming in Win64 bit or something lol? I'm extremely clueless to all of that because I have never programmed in it before. Sorry for asking stupid questions but I would like to know :). Thanks, Mason [Edited by - Mas0n on July 28, 2005 1:33:57 PM]
Advertisement
The Free Pascal compiler (AMD64 version) seems to operate the same as the 32 bit version. For C++ compilers, I wouldn't know.
Pure asm programming, yes there would change a lot..
You can find just about anything you want to know about windows programming on www.msdn.com.

http://msdn.microsoft.com/library/default.asp?url=/library/en-us/win64/win64/getting_ready_for_64_bit_windows.asp

Some highlights:

"only pointers expand to 64 bits; all other basic data types (integer and long) remain 32 bits in length."

"Initially, most applications that run on 64-bit Windows will have been ported from 32-bit Windows. It is a goal that the same source, carefully written, should run on both 32- and 64-bit Windows."

Do not cast pointers to int, long, ULONG, or DWORD.
Use the PtrToLong or PtrToUlong function to truncate pointers.

etc...
Thanks, I was looking for something like this. I was reading and I came upon this.

"The result is simplicity and a short learning curve for the developer—writing code for 64-bit Windows is just like writing code for 32-bit Windows."