• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Rasmadrak

Collision Detection... Simplified?

This topic is 4886 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi there! Right now I've done a rather stupid solution... I'm checking the distance to every vertex of a model against a specified point... this works, but as you can imagine, if the triangle is big enough, there will be no collision... so; is it possible to adapt my cheap-poor-mans-excuse for collision detection, into a point in triangle test? I have a clue on how I should do it, but only in 2D... how should one translate the 3d positions into a flat triangle... I'm not that good at math, so a gentle and nice explanation would be really nice. :)

Advertisement
To detect if a point is inside a triangle(or another convex polygon) you must first project the point on the polygon plane and then do a point_in_polygon test
code(I don't have my recent code here, so it's my old VB code :) ):

Public Function PlaneDistance(Normal As D3DVECTOR, vPoint As D3DVECTOR) As Single
PlaneDistance = -(D3DXVec3Dot(Normal, vPoint))
End Function

Public Function AngleBetweenVectors(Vector1 As D3DVECTOR, Vector2 As D3DVECTOR) As Single
AngleBetweenVectors = ArcCos(D3DXVec3Dot(Vector1, Vector2) / (Magnitude(Vector1) * Magnitude(Vector2)))
End Function

Public Function InsidePolygon(vIntersection As D3DVECTOR, Poly() As D3DVECTOR, verticeCount) As Boolean
Dim angle As Double
Dim vA As D3DVECTOR, vB As D3DVECTOR
Dim i As Integer
For i = 0 To verticeCount - 1
vA = VplusV(Poly(i), vIntersection, -1)
If i + 1 < verticeCount Then
vB = VplusV(Poly(i + 1), vIntersection, -1)
Else
vB = VplusV(Poly(0), vIntersection, -1)
End If

angle = angle + AngleBetweenVectors(vA, vB)
Next i

If angle >= (MATCH_FACTOR * (2 * PI)) Then
InsidePolygon = True
Else
InsidePolygon = False
End If
End Function