• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
thehan

patches in DirectX?

This topic is 4762 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey, I'm just wondering if anyone could post some source on how to draw a simple bspline(or anything) patch surface in DX. Also is there any way to draw just a simple patch object without loading a mesh? Maybe one can create a patch mesh by specifying data in the program? Anyway, that is what I would like to do. /thehan

Advertisement
Please help anyone. All I want to know is how to use this overload of the patchmesh constructor:

public PatchMesh(
Device device,
PatchInformation information,
int numberPatches,
int numberVertices,
VertexElement[] declaration
);

I have never used patches or patchmeshes before, so if anyone just had a little experience on the subject maybe they could help me get started.

Are you wanting to use Direct3D's built in higher order surface (HOS) functions? (That code snippet looks like MDX, but I can't tell for certain[smile])

The problem is 2 of the main vendors (ATI/Nvidia) took differing views on the HOS implementations - and various driver revisions have seen functionality added/removed. Or, at least ATI removed it for a bit...

HOS tend to mess up some other algorithms (e.g. sillouette extrusion) such that it hasn't been heavily used by some of the big names/titles, despite it being quite a cool feature [smile]

I recommend you have a look through the developer sites for ATI and Nvidia for some of their samples - although you'll probably find they're all in native DX.
EDIT: Ignore that idea, I just checked their sites - nothing that isn't ridiculously old

hth
Jack