• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
mrmrcoleman

Shaders...

This topic is 4769 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I have decided that the time has come for me to learn about shaders. Up until this point I have had no experience with shaders, I understand basically what they are in that they replace the normal functionality of the fixed function pipeline but other than that I don't have a clue. Could somebody please clear a few things up for me before I get started. 1. I hear of Cg, HLSL, etc etc but I don't really grasp what these are. 2. What hardware will I need to have in my development platform to be able to work with shaders? 3. Are there any good introductory texts on this subject that could be recomended? Also, if somebody just wants to give me any extra information that would be useful I would be greatly appreciative. Thanks in advance. Mark

Advertisement
1. Cg (for DX & OGL),HLSL (for DX) and GLSL (for OGL) are C-like, high level languages used to code shaders.
2. I'm not really sure whats the minimum card that first supported shaders, but I think you could look at a GF6600 - its rather cheap, and I hear it supports shader model 3.0, which is the latest & greatest for now :)
3. I personally started with the Cg shader tut on nehe.gamedev.net, & after that I jumped into the Cg documentation availeable at nvidias site. Then just googling for the specifics on some effects, if I need :)

1) Well shaders are for 'programming the GPU' much like when programming the CPU you don’t use assembly (most of the time). Instead you use a higher level programming language such as c++ java or what ever. That’s what GLSL, CG Rendermonky, etc are, they are just a higher level way of writing shaders.