• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
gnomer

division and modulus to determine palindrome

This topic is 4766 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am fairly new to C++ programming. I've had a few classes in the past but that was a while ago so I'm pretty much starting all over. I am currently working my way through the textbook "C++ How to Program 4e". The book has exercises after each chapter which I try to do as many of as I can figure out. The problem is that most of them have no documented solution so I come to you all here for help. I am only just finishing Chapter 2: Control structures. The next chapter is functions, to give you an idea of where I am. So the solutions at this point should be pretty basic. For anyone with the book the exercise is 2.29 and it reads as follows. "A palindrome is a number or a text phrase that reads the same backwards as forwards. For example, each of the following five-digit integers is a palindrome: 12321, 55555, 45554 and 11611. Write a program that reads in a five-digit integer and determines whether it is a palindrome.(Hint: Use the division and modulus operators to separate the number into its individual digits." I just can't figure this one out. I'm probably approaching it totally wrong. I hope I am posting this in the proper forum. If not please direct me to the right place. :) Looking forward to any assistance offered. Thanks!

Advertisement

char string[256];
char *end = string[strlen(string)];
char *start = string;

while (*(end--) == *(start++) && end != start) {}
if (end != start)
// not a palindrome

That's not tested, but if it doesn't work, it'll at least give you an idea how to do it.

I think your solution is more advanced than the chapter I am on. I'm not sure when I get into pointers and arrays. I think those are pointers if I remember correctly. :)