• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
lordoftools

Directories and File Manipulation

This topic is 4882 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi im very new to GameDev.Net so i hope i don't sound too stupid when i ask extreme beginner questions. I have been using VB 6.0 for a few years now and C++ is proving to be a larger challenge than expected. I have search google to the best of my ability and was unable to find the answer to a few basic question (at least without getting so confused by advanced code surrounding my answer). ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Topic #1: Directories How do i scan a directory for it's contents? How can i find the dir location of the app that im running? any various other information about directories and/or directory manipulation would be appreciated. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- Topic #2: Files How do i use the basic manipulation functions for files? ie. Creating, Deleting, Renaming, Writing, Reading, Appending, etc. Once again any and all addictional information surrounding file manipulation would be appreciated. ------------------------------------------------------------------------------- NOTE: MY CURRENT LEARNING style HAS BEEN FROM SEARCHING THROUGH SAMPLE CODE I WOULD MUCH APPRECIATE IT IF WHEN FUNCTIONS OR CALLS ARE SPOKE OF THE SYNTEX AND THE WAY IT IS USED IN CODE WOULD BE GIVEN ALSO. Thank you very much. Lordoftools

Advertisement
C++ had no native functions for scanning a directory. You either need to use platform specific functions or a library like boost::filesystem.

The complete path to the application is usually passed as argv[0].