• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
deathwearer

Few questions

This topic is 4882 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Ok, I'm new to game developpement. I'm already a student in programming so I'm not new to programming. 1. First of all, in order to code, and follow tutorials and the stuff from books, what shall i have instaled on my computer, i curently use VS .net 2003. I have Directx 9.0c SDK also instaled. Do i need anything else? 2. Last day i tried the soure code of a project that was using directx as an API and it didn't want to compile, why? it was saying i didn't have this .h file and this one etc. Do i have to copy the headers and library files from the SDK directory to my VS include directory? 3. I'v seen that word few times already and since my natal language is french i not sure what it really mean, the word is : hardcoded . 4. It's not a question, but just wanted to say your all great and very helpfull and one of the best community i'v seen so far ( I'm still reading the gazillions of post in the begenners forum and i'v got many info i was wondering about )

Advertisement
5. Also almost forgot, I'm still making console program at school, and i don't know yet how to make win program ( gonna learn it next session ) and I'm searching for a good tutorial how to setup/code one. I'v tried with MSDN but didn't really find what i was searching for.

1. That depends on what you are developing. Decide on a project first then decide on what you need to make that project.

2. Make sure that you have set up the DirectX directories. In VC++'s options there is a place to set the include and library directories. For VS.NET 2003 this is in Tools->Options->Projects->VC++ Directories. The UI might have changed from 2003 to 2005 but it should be in the same general area.