• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Pfhoenix

Coloring Textures

This topic is 4762 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm just getting started in dealing with texture stages. I'm trying to not just colorize a texture, but then also have it alpha'd against the destination properly. I currently set texture stage 0 to BLENDFACTORALPHA and set COLORARG1 to to TEXTURE and COLORARG2 to TFACTOR. I can color the texture, no problem, but I can't seem to figure out how to take that result and then still properly alpha it on the destination surface. My surface alpha is set to SRCCOLOR, and the destination alpha is set to SRCALPHA. Any pointers would be greatly appreciated. - Pfhoenix

Advertisement
Hmm, nope, what should they be set to (and should they be set in the same texture stage)?

Thanks for the reply,
- Pfhoenix

I use something like this:

Relevant render states:
D3DRS_ALPHABLENDENABLE TRUE
D3DRS_SRCBLEND D3DBLEND_SRCALPHA
D3DRS_DESTBLEND D3DBLEND_INVSRCALPHA
Relevant texture stage states (all for stage 0):
D3DTSS_COLOROP D3DTOP_MODULATE (default)
D3DTSS_COLORARG1 D3DTA_TEXTURE (default)
D3DTSS_COLORARG2 D3DTA_TFACTOR
D3DTSS_ALPHAOP D3DTOP_MODULATE
D3DTSS_ALPHAARG1 D3DTA_TEXTURE (default)
D3DTSS_ALPHAARG2 D3DTA_TFACTOR

The result is about what you are looking for, I think.
EDIT: Oh yeah, that's for Direct3D 8.1. Any differences (between 8.1 and 9.0, or between what I do and the effect you want) should be pretty easy to sort out with the help of the documentation.

I'm using DX9, though I don't think there's a difference in this area.

Sadly, the modulate settings didn't accomplish what I wanted. Maybe I explained myself poorly :