• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
BugSlayer

Managed Device lost Fullscreen.

This topic is 4885 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I am pretty new to MDX but not DX, but I can't understand how to deal with the lost device (Alt+Tab) in fullscreen at all. I have gogled far an long, and most solutions I see works great for windowed, no problem there, but fullscreen keeps crashing when I try to return back to it. I even added 4 lines to the samples in the SDK to make them start in Fullscreen, but it is the same with them. They also crashes. Is it just me, or do anyone have a really good solution for this? Thanks

Advertisement
Hi there BugSlayer :)
Let me try and shed some light on the matter.

[Tutorial on DeviceLost] - I was busy writing one for you and this guy made it so clear. I just had to paste it.

Responding to a Lost Device
"A lost device must re-create resources (including video memory resources) after it has been reset. If a device is lost, the application queries the device to see if it can be restored to the operational state. If not, the application waits until the device can be restored.

If the device can be restored, the application prepares the device by destroying all video-memory resources and any swap chains. Then, the application calls the Reset method. Reset is the only method that has an effect when a device is lost, and is the only method by which an application can change the device from a lost to an operational state. The method will fail unless the application releases all resources that are allocated in Default, including those created by the CreateRenderTarget and CreateDepthStencilSurface methods.