Sign in to follow this  
TheRulingEmpire

Board Game AI

Currently, a friend and I are starting a small competition between each other. The goal is to see who can write the best AI for reversi. While I know this has been done before, we both decided this would be a good start to get some learnin' on for AI, and to see who's the better programmer. My question is, what do I need and where should I start? While I have some ideas on the design of the AI, I am new to AI: - Branch testing all possible moves and choosing the move with the highest chance of getting the most stones. - Placing values on board spots that are more important such as sides and corners for future evaluations of the board and getting a better chance of acquiring more stones. - Regional evaluation for where the next move should be played that will give the highest chance of acquiring more stones. - Neural nets seem to be popular, throw in one that leverages the above values for a better chance? (I've read all the tutorials/articles on this site about them, but have never developed one. It's a far cry for really understanding them if you've never developed one.) Another question is on the language of choice for this. While I am most experienced in C/C++ and JAVA, I have had some experience in Common LISP. Mostly we're doing this to learn/see who's better, so I don't exactly want to go out and find a solution already built to use. That defeats the purpose of why we started this. So what I guess I am asking is for general advice for this project, and help in which direction I should go. I don't have any time constraints so a particular solution that might be deemed to complicated/time heavy is allright. Thanks for any help!

Guest Anonymous Poster
I think you should look up min-max search. It is an algorithm that will evaluate all the possible board positions for a certain number of moves ahead.