• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Jiia

virtual keyword

This topic is 4850 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Is it necessary to declare inherited functions as virtual as well as the base functions? Example:
class Base
{
public:
  virtual void Draw()=0;
};
class Child : public Base
{
public:
  virtual void Draw();
    .. or just ..
  void Draw();
};
Would there be any difference in functionality between these two? Or does the difference only come up if something is derived from Child? If it works both ways, is it common to include or common to exclude the child's virtual keyword? Sorry if I'm asking dumb questions. I've just been including the keyword in child types since I started programming and have only recently questioned it. Thanks for any help

Advertisement
See the following example:

Base* b;
Child c;
b = &c;

b->draw();

with virtual on both here you will get the draw of Child;
without the virtual in c, here would the draw of Base called.

It works both ways. Child::Draw inherits the virtual specifier from Base::Draw.

I usually write virtual on Child::Draw however, as it makes it clear that it is a virtual function, even if I do not have the definition of Base handy.

[Edit: Beaten to it by Sparhawk, who is incorrect. In both cases, Child::Draw will be called]

In C++: once virtual, always virtual. If a base class declares a member function virtual then any derived class member function which matches that functions signature (except for template member functions) will also be virtual:
#include <iostream>

class Base
{

public:

virtual void function()
{
std::cout << "Base::function\n";
}

};

class Intermediate
:
public Base
{

public:

void function()
{
std::cout << "Intermediate::function\n";
}

};

class Derived
:
public Intermediate
{

public:

void function()
{
std::cout << "Derived::function\n";
}

};