ANSI C++ : Why such a vast difference in executable size on differnent platforms?

Started by
15 comments, last by random_thinker 18 years, 8 months ago
Hi All, I've written a program in C++ and compiled it on three platforms. There is a vast difference in program size, particularly on Mac OSX 10.2.8. Linux Gentoo (the primary development platform) g++ v3+ with -ansi -O3 -s size: 240k. WinXP MinGW g++ v3+ with -ansi -O3 -s size: 520k. MacOSX 10.2.8 g++ v3+ with -ansi -O3 (won't accept -s or -x) size: 3.2mb !! I don't understand this unless it has something to do with dynamic c++ std libraries on my Mac. Why has this happened? --random
--random_thinkerAs Albert Einstein said: 'Imagination is more important than knowledge'. Of course, he also said: 'If I had only known, I would have been a locksmith'.
Advertisement
I do know that with XP + MinGW part of the issue is the static linking of the standard library - don't know about Mx OSX. Does mac have strip? Also, although I'm not an expert on the compiler options, -g0 may help... IIRC my Eclipse IDE adds this in it's "release" mode with the managed makefile projects...

Most of this overhead is once-per executable rather than a percentage increase, so I wouldn't worry too terribly much about it...
--Mauling

Thanks for your info. I thought that the -s or -x linker option was for strip. The Mac won't accept this setting, although Linux and WinXP/MinGW will.

Time-wise, with regard to random number speed tests, the Gentoo Linux OS is about 10% faster than the WinXP/MinGW executable ( I run these OS's as dual boot systems ). This is really negligible, and could be explained by the way I'm carryiing out the tests. The MacOSX is on a laptop and really can't be compared time-wise, as it is a much slower machine.