• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Cochi

Hello everybody

This topic is 4846 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, i've been reading GameDev.net's forums, and now i've decided to join the forum :) I'm a complete newbie regarding programming, but i've been planning to learn by myself. I've established myself a schedule for self-teaching C/C++ from internet tutorials / books. I'm not sure if it's enough, but i've established 2 hours per day, from monday to friday (i'd like to know if it's ok / not enough / too much ). Anyways, before i get into the programming world i have a little question: Do you need to be really good at math to be a good programmer? I mean, i know that math is THE base, but i'm not sure if i need to know advanced math (But i always can learn, i'm ALWAYS willing to learn :D ). Another little question, this time not about myself, but for a friend of mine. He's developing a MMORPG, and before they enter the coding stage (Wich i think they never will :P ), they need to know if THIS is possible: a world with buildable terrains. You must build a tile/action (and takes some time per tile)... For instance, building a wall (single tile), takes about 30 sec~ 1 minute. And for each fundation there's a different map. Anyways i think this is all just a fantasy, but whatever :). Thanks for reading, any help is appriciated Yours, Cochi

Advertisement
Hi Cochi,

Welcome to the forum.
Regarding whether your studying commitment is enough or not, you are the one who can answer.
You need to set a specific goal and timeframe. And do lots of practice of what you learn! Write lots of codes!

If you would like to make 3D games, you have to be good at 3D math (linear algebra and trigonometry).

And meditate this wisdom from Nobuo Uematsu: