• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Snowfly

What will I be missing?

This topic is 4848 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm a game artist working in mobile (yes - pixel art) and have just recently decided to study C++ to put together my own apps in Symbian, or if nothing else, gain an appreciation of what it is the programmers at work do. To start learning I've downloaded Code:Blocks and the free VC++ compiler (because I'm also learning C++ fundamentals(!!) alongside Symbian programming) from MSDN, and, I have a few, maybe dumb-sounding questions: -How does CodeBlocks compare to VC++? -What is an SDK? Do they work with all IDE's and will I be able to program for Symbian from CodeBlocks? -Will I run into any hitches learning to develop on Win32, and then switching over to Symbian OS? Is there a path I should take to target my learning towards Symbian development? Anyway, hope I don't get flamed. Oh and if you want to check out my art, it's at technicolor.deviantart.com I'm passionate about games and glad that I get to make them for a living.

Advertisement
hey nice art :)
-I don't know
-An sdk will work with all compilers (basicly). And it is roughly a fancy name for a grouping of functions that you can use in your application, after apropriet linking accurs, a software development kit.
-it depends greatly on what kind of coding you do. if you use windows gdk none (almost none) of your code will transfer but you'll learn a lot. I use OpenGL which transfers directly (I think, if you code it right). So you could just recompile for Symbian.

Hope that helps, but take it with a grain of salt, I'm still learning to :)

Quote:
Original post by Snowfly
-What is an SDK? Do they work with all IDE's and will I be able to program for Symbian from CodeBlocks?