My first game project

Started by
12 comments, last by counterrabbit 18 years, 8 months ago
Hello everyone I am new to this forum site, hence the name n0o0b. I am senior at Hofstra University and I want to start working on my first game. I have basic programming skills with C++, VB, and java. I have touched on other languages like perl, C, and scheme. As previously stated I want to try and work on my own mini game something simple I can do on my own. I was hoping for something good for beginners that can show me the overall structure of how to work on a project of this scale. I asked around my school and it seems like you can’t get more basic then Tetris. So I being that I am a noob, I was wondering is anyone out there new of any websites out there can help me get started with the overall structure. Things like figuring out what functions to right, that sort of thing. If anyone has any advice of their own I will more then welcome that as well. I will try and keep some of live journal of my efforts, so you all can help me out and comment on things I have done wrong. Thanks all, I hope you can help little old me, heheh. n0o0b
Advertisement
Well, you definitley need to learn one of the API's out there; OpenGL, SDL to name a few.
i have some knowlegde about opengl, but i still don't knwo how to bring things together. Any suggestions???
Maybe you can get a game engine, I think that should be much less work then working with an API. You can find some in the FAQ in this forum...
The simplest game projects need two basic things, user input and visual output.

User input is needed in order for the player to communicate with the game.

Visual output is needed to communicate the game state with the user, be it via text in the console or by a 3d graphics api.

Games also need something in between, the game update. The game update is responsible for updating the game state based off the users input and other game specific logic.