• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
ra1024

OpenGL Distortions around face intersections

This topic is 4848 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm new to opengl and have been working rendering 3d models. Everything works fine but I'm seeing some distortions where faces intersect. As I zoom in or out, the distortions seem to undulate down the intersections. I assume there is some common mistake I'm making as I see these in models I didnt' create whether they use only triangles or larger polygons. I've searched but can't find anything as I don't even know what this problem is called. Here's an image showing some large distortions where 2 faces intersect as the model is moved down the z axis. http://atlbiz.com/images/1.jpg These 2 images show a slightly less serious distortion along a few seams as a different model is at different distances. http://atlbiz.com/images/2.jpg http://atlbiz.com/images/3.jpg Here's my initialization code: glShadeModel(GL_SMOOTH); glEnable(GL_DEPTH_TEST); glEnable(GL_LIGHTING); glLightModeli(GL_LIGHT_MODEL_TWO_SIDE, GL_TRUE); glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_DIFFUSE, diffuseLight); glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_SPECULAR, specularLight); glLightfv(GL_LIGHT0, GL_POSITION, LightPosition); glEnable(GL_LIGHT0); glEnable(GL_COLOR_MATERIAL); glColorMaterial(GL_FRONT, GL_AMBIENT_AND_DIFFUSE); glMaterialfv(GL_FRONT, GL_SPECULAR, specularLight); glMateriali(GL_FRONT, GL_SHININESS, 128); This is my rendering code for a model consisting of only triangles: glClearColor(0.0f, 0.3f, 0.0f, 0.0f); glClear(GL_COLOR_BUFFER_BIT | GL_DEPTH_BUFFER_BIT); glLoadIdentity (); glTranslatef (0.0, 0.0, zoom); glRotatef(-xRotation,0.0,1.0,0.0); glRotatef(-yRotation,1.0,0.0,0.0); for(x=0;x<(int)xb1->fcount;x++) { glBegin(GL_TRIANGLES); glNormal3f(); glVertex3f(); glNormal3f(); glVertex3f(); glNormal3f(); glVertex3f(); glEnd(); } Thanks for any