• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
PERSIS

Can I start with C# ?

This topic is 4849 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello . Is it suitable to start game programming with C# ? I am completely novice to C language . but experienced with pascal and basic . I have two books about C# : C# and Game programming - a begginers guide 2nd edition / Salvatore A. Bouno /akpeters publication . and second : Microsoft C# Game Programming For The Absolute Beginner / Andy Haris / Premier Press also I have a C++ book ( C++ Primer that introduced in GD ) . Whitch is the best for starting ? :)

Advertisement
Sure C# is fine. Professionals use C++ mainly because it gives you absolute control over everything (especially memory).

After you learn C# learning C++ isn't very much harder but it is a very different philosophies to the languages.

Yes you can it is very viable. With care C# can compete with C++ in frames per second speed. Not only this but as you learn C# you will discover a nice little feature that should only be used when absolutly neccesary. C# has unsafe code regions so you can use pointers to manage memory.

Actually, you can start with whatever you want if you REALLY put your mind to it. I know, C++ is hard, but it's a great feeling when you make your first game, even if it's a console game. Learn whatever you think that you will be comfortable with.

C# would be a good language to start with. Just pick up a good book or 2 and read some online tutorials while you work. Also start with some console programs before you even think about going into graphics.

Thank you all ...

I hesitated because the C++ is more rooty in game programming and related resources are more accesible than C#.Is it correct ? It appears that I should learn both.

Regards :)