• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Ultimate_Fusion

should i learn C?

This topic is 4844 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

i am a programmer. done java for a year and am starting to learn c++ becasue it is the way to go with game programming. do I need to learn C before i learn C++? is there any good game tutorials for beginners on the web?

Advertisement
The only reason I can see to "start" with C would be because it's "simpler" (none of the fancy C++ bits and bobs are directly available - classes and whatnot) or to familiarise yourself with the standard C-syntax.
You know Java so should be happy with the concept of classes - and Java follows a C-type syntax. In short: I can see no point saying "first learn C, then learn C++". Just dive in to C++ - the stuff you'd start with in your "conversion" from Java will be pretty close to normal C anyway.

I would absolutely say no. If you start with C programming you will undoubtedly pick up some C idioms that are just considered bad practice in "modern C++". This means when you start learning C++, you will have to "unlearn" some of the C ways of doing things.

I think you should pick up the book "Accelerated C++" and learn some good and modern C++. The book is fairly fast paced, but since you already know Java that shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Normally I say learn C first because it is simpler, but coming from Java, you should have no problem with Cpp. And rohde is right; I learned C first, and I have to change a lot of my programming habits because, while they make good C, they make "messy" and "insecure" Cpp [lol]

I would learn x86 assembler before C! At least that way you learn how a computer really works first, which is definitely a big help with serious game programming. So, IMO no don't learn C.