• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
biggamecoder

im a noob, i got q?'s

This topic is 4848 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hey so i just got on today.. and i'm am really interested in learning video game development, i'd like to make games on the side. I've been on forums before for game sites and i known i'll probably get flamed but i don't care, i just got a couple of questions. 1) Can i get a C++ program (is it called a compiler?) for free anywhere? i tried to find it on the forum but no search so.. 2) I'm taking a math in game development online class at my school, it's affiliated with gameinstitute. Is game institute a credible resource on a resume? 3) What do you get out of coding? Why do you enjoy it? I just would like to compare my thoughts to yours

Advertisement
1.Dev-CPP

3.I get the satisfaction of seeing things I created running correctly, also, if I want an App to do something, I don't have to spend a fortune to get it, I can code it myself. Coding is just cool, I get absorbed in it and washed away, I can pass entire days just coding, it's just awesome.

Good Luck!

EDIT: Yes, it is called a compiler.

1) YOu can get a free compiler yeh. I'd suggest Microsoft Visual C++ Express Edition which you can get for free from http://go.microsoft.com/?linkid=2556524

There are several free C++ compilers. Assuming that you have a Windows box, you can download either the Visual C++ 2003 Toolkit or the Visual C++ 2005 Express Edition Beta from Microsoft, or you can download MinGW or DevCpp for gcc variants.

If you have a non-Windows machine, chances are that it comes equipped with g++ or has it available. Like the XCode installation that come with Mac OS X.