• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
hillbilly

Does the Portal Engine still work?

This topic is 4840 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi guys, I'm a newbie on game programming, I've read some books recently, yes, I think I can implement some algorithm under the guide of the books, but I don't konw exacctly where and when to use them.:( I plan to create a simple 3d game engin to drive my game - a RPG game, the roles can run through the streets of the city, and they can also walk in the rooms of some bulidings, It's a kind of indoor-outdoor mixed game? My puzzles are: 1) in the in-door part of my game, should I use a Portal engine? I was told that the Portal has some superiorities than the BSP algorithm. I'm also wondering if there is a new technology does the same thing? 2) does the BSP algorithm do nothing more than the collision detection under the circumstance of the emergence of the powerful vido hardware? 3) who does the frustum culling, game engin or the hardware? Is the frustum culling a standard and necessary capability of an engine? 4) in the out-dorr part of my game, are there some techniques like Portal in in-door part to accelerate the game? I only konw LOD on terrain rendering:( I will deeply appreciate you if you can indicate some things to me. thanks a lot! :)

Advertisement
1) in the in-door part of my game, should I use a Portal engine? I was told that the Portal has some superiorities than the BSP algorithm. I'm also wondering if there is a new technology does the same thing?
Short answer: Portals are easier and BSP-trees aren't supported by hardware.
Go for portals, you'll save time and effort.

2) does the BSP algorithm do nothing more than the collision detection under the circumstance of the emergence of the powerful vido hardware?