• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
WebsiteWill

Basic 3D Modeling For Jewelry (Commercial Product)

This topic is 4847 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hey guys: I work as a web developer for Stuller here in Louisiana. They are looking into a system that would allow our users to piece together jewelry and view it in real time. The idea for now is to develop a rather simple, easy to use interface that would allow users to load models of jewelry mountings and stones then place those stones in the appropriate locations on the mounting and view it in real time. They are looking for good quality visualizations. Imagine a platinum engagement ring with a single large diamond (solitaire). The user would go up to the kiosk, load the engagement ring mounting, view it by rotating, scaling, translating. They decide they like that mounting and they want to see what it looks like with a stone attached. Since the mounting is selected there are only a limited set of stone shapes and sizes available. The program loads the appropriate stone (diamond but it could be amethyst or any other gemstone). They need to place the stone into the mounting and then be able to rotate the combination as a single piece. Now imaging this with the ability to set as many as 40 stones into a single mounting. Then they want to view it as close to reality as possible. I'm guessing have the program actually generate a rendering unless near photorealism is now capable at runtime. However, most of these people will likely be running the application on older machines in jewelry stores so their graphics capabilities will likely be limited. I proposed that this be done as a 3D application using DirectX or OpenGL with my personal preference being DirectX (they tend to agree as we aren't worried much about Unix or Mac users for this). However, we are looking for other