• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
dxFoo

Help?

This topic is 4840 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

I'm in college focusing on applications programming w/ game programming on the side. I want the ability to use my selected language on mobile phones, the web, servers, games, etc. Out of all I studied, it obviously seems like C++ shouldn't be the focus, but probably what I'm most comfortable on, C#, which can do a wide range than just specifically systems. Here's the issue though: I have a small spark in me that wants to fully go for game programming now w/ C++, but I don't know how realistic it is in getting such a job. I know it requires dedication, but the fear of less jobs is a huge matter to me; I'd end up here. It seems like getting a job in apps programming w/ C# seems more realistic than getting a game programming job. I could do games on the side and probably be just as happy. Although it seems like I know the answer already, I need to hear your thoughts. Thanks. Later thoughts: It seems like either you know you're going to get in, or knowing you won't. With these doubts of mine, I think I lack the dedication. To me, it just seems like there's less jobs in gaming, so why bother? I'd like to, to be honest. I'm just carefully thinking this through before I sail off into the unknown.

Advertisement
I think most programmers with more than just a few years of experience would agree that it is not so much the programming language but the programming itself that defines your experience. So, even if you for now focus on one language that suits your current goals, this will be a huge advantage when studying the next language.