• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
eektor

I need help to get started

This topic is 4839 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello everyone I am interested in learning how to program games in my free time. I have very little experience in C++ and C. I took a class that involved some programming in these languages. Its been a while so I pretty much forgot everything. I am wondering what books and compiler I should get to get started. I already have Sam's teach yourself C++ in 21 days and another book on C ( I forgot the name). After reading the for beginner's section in this website I decided to get the Beginning C++ Game Programming and I downloaded Dev C++. I wanted to know is this a good start or should I get another book? or another compiler like Microsoft Visual C++.Net? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

Advertisement
Check out the for begginers section in my sig at the bottom of this post.

ace

I'm sorry I guess I wasn't that clear in my previous message. I did read the for beginner's section of the website. I just want to know two things.

1) What's the difference between buying the Microsoft Visual C++.Net 2003 compiler or getting the free DevC++. Which one is better for beginners?

2) Before I spend money on a bunch of programming books I wanted to know the opinions of others. So far besides the Beginning C++ Game programming I was thinking of getting the Programming Windows Fifth Edition. (Will that help with XP because it just talks about earlier versions of the Window OS)

Any advice would be greatly appreciated.

You can download MSVC++ 2005 Beta 2 for free from Microsoft to. Doesn't really matter what IDE you choose as long as you feel somewhat comfortable with it, personally I like the feel of MSVC++ better though.