• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
CppMaster

Problem with GUI in java

This topic is 4839 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, tho I'm a java newbie, I'm trying to create a game with my friend. The game is a 2D RPG. We are currently working on an extern application that will help us create the maps (the application is called MapMaker). The problem is that for some unknown reason, the GUI does not work properly. When the mouse is moved over the component made to display the map (instance of class MapDisplay, which extends JPanel), a green rectangle should move with the mouse. The screen, apart from the cursor, which is green, should be black for a new map. Instead, the screen flashes black and then becomes gray. When I move the mouse over it, the GUI it-self is displayed inside the component and sometimes, random components appear (ex: JScrollBars). What could be causing that (see code below)? What should I do? mport java.io.*; import java.awt.*; import javax.swing.*; import java.awt.geom.*; import javax.imageio.*; import java.awt.image.*; public class MapDisplay extends JPanel { //... private void completePaint(Graphics g){ Graphics2D gfx = (Graphics2D)g; BufferedImage disp; Map currentMap = MapMaker.getCurrentMap();//returns a map object if(MapMaker.getLayerMode()== 4){ disp = currentMap.render(MapMaker.getInvisibleColor());//returns the final map disp = addEventIcon(disp); } else disp = currentMap.getData(MapMaker.getLayerMode());//returns a "layer" of the map gfx.drawImage(disp, null, MapDisplay.x, MapDisplay.y); //draw cursor Color current = gfx.getColor(); gfx.setColor(new Color(84,255,3)); /*The cursor rectangle is defined inside MapDisplay, it has a width and a height of 16. It's coordinates depend on the mouse position*/ gfx.draw(MapMaker.getCursor()); gfx.setColor(current); } private void drawCursor(Graphics