• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Kija

Vertex Shader Diffuse Color

This topic is 4840 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hello, I've found a couple of threads covering almost the same problem but still can't find the solution. I'm really new with shaders so bare with me on this one. I took a tutorial on shaders from CodeSampler and implemented it in my own application. So the effect file specifies both a vertex and a pixel shader. Here's the (slightly modded) .fx file:
float4x4 worldViewProj : WorldViewProjection;
texture testTexture;

sampler Sampler = sampler_state
{
	Texture   = (testTexture);
	MipFilter = LINEAR;
	MinFilter = LINEAR;
	MagFilter = LINEAR;
};

struct VS_INPUT
{
	float4 position	: POSITION;
	float4 color	: COLOR0;
	float2 texture0 : TEXCOORD0;
};

struct VS_OUTPUT
{
	float4 position : POSITION;
	float4 color	 : COLOR0;
	float2 texture0  : TEXCOORD0;
};

struct PS_OUTPUT
{
	float4 color : COLOR;
};

VS_OUTPUT myvs( VS_INPUT IN )
{
	VS_OUTPUT OUT;

OUT.position = mul( worldViewProj, IN.position );

OUT.color = float4( 1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.5 );

OUT.texture0 = IN.texture0;

return OUT;

PS_OUTPUT myps( VS_OUTPUT IN )
{
	PS_OUTPUT OUT;

//	OUT.color = tex2D( Sampler, IN.texture0 ) * IN.color; // We don't want the texture atm
	OUT.color = IN.color; // This line makes the primitives white, why?
//	OUT.color = float4( 1.0, 0.0, 0.0, 0.5 ); // This line makes the primitives red with alpha = 50%

return OUT;
}

technique Technique0
{
    pass Pass0
    {
		Lighting = FALSE;

Sampler[0] = (Sample
		VertexShader = compile vs_1_1 myvs();
		PixelShader  = compile ps_1_1 myps();
    }
}

My primitives (two triangles in a strip) is rendered to screen space coordinates and thereby defined by this FVF and struct:
#define D3DFVF_GUIFVF (D3DFVF_XYZRHW | D3DFVF_DIFFUSE | D3DFVF_TEX1)

struct GuiVertex
{
	float x, y, z, rhw;