Game Timing

Started by
15 comments, last by 5MinuteGaming 18 years, 8 months ago
Currently my game engine strives for a fixed frame rate, e.g. 30 Hz. Everything works beautifully when this frame rate is being hit and I even get to sleep to give some time to my fellow processes. However, when I am blowing frame rate, things are not so good. If I am currently getting 15 FPS, my objects update assuming that they are hitting the 30Hz. Effectively anything that moves begins to move twice as slow because the object is updating only half as frequently but moving the same distance because it thinks it is getting 30Hz. I’ve debated the best way to handle this problem, and was looking for input. There are two options as I see them. If I am missing something please please fill me in. Or if you see big problems ahead, let me know. It would be much appreciated. I’m a newbie at this and looking for any valuable input. 1) Keep track of the time to complete last frame. Continue the way I am now and if I am hitting the target frame rate, do nothing. If I am blowing frame, then I will have all objects use the last frame time to do movement computations, etc. And the process will not sleep and keep going. I wonder if this will prove to result in jerky movement for both the first person player I have and anything walking around in the scene or projectiles, etc also since the amount of movement per frame will be bouncing around all of the time. Maybe not. 2) Keep track of the time to complete last frame. Forget about sleeping. Hog the processor. Blow through objects updating them as fast as possible. Every object can determine for itself the next time it should run by accumulating the length of the last frame. For example, say the player only needs to update 30 times per second for whatever reason. The player won’t update until it has witnessed as least 33 ms of time pass by accumulating the length of the last frame. When it moves, it will use the accumulated time to determine how big