• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
Four

Blender 3D-Moving vertecies only in 2D

This topic is 4838 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm new to 3D modelling :) Is it possible in Blender to move vertecies only so X/Y changes but not Z or any combination like Y/Z or to just change X/Y/Z individually? Thanks in advance!

Advertisement
Alright, to move along X/Y/Z independantly you want to select whatever it is you want to move. Then you need to press g, so that your moving them around, then press the X, Y, or Z key, this will make it so you move along just one axis.

Thanks very much!

One more queston. I have a bunch of vertecies selected, I want to snap them so they all are on the same X coordinate. How may I do that? Y and Z to.

Thanks in advance

I don't know anyway to quickly do that, sorry, but a slower way to do it would be to select a vertice and press N, you can change around these coordinates.
For example:

\###
#\##
##\#

I have this line over there, it's composed of two vertices, one at each end
I want to move the top vertice so that it is straight in line with the
bottom. The top vertice has an X coordinate of -0.0, the bottom vertice has

an X coordinate of 1.0, so I change the top vertice's X value to 1.0 and my line becomes like this
|
|
|

Sorry that I couldn't find anything quicker, I'm not saying that their isn't a way to do this quickly, just that I don't know the way. Oh and I apologize for my crude ASCII art.[wink]

Thanks again! I got a bunch of vertecies very close together like that. I pressed w then "Remove Doubles" some vertecies are close together is it possible to make those vertecies to be "one" and to remove the doubles.

Thanks in advance!