• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
lepre

starting a bit after the beginning

This topic is 4835 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

hi everyone, that's my first post here. i'm 20 yo from italy and i'm a programmer, at least i should :) in the past i used pascal, delphi, c/c++, java, php and others. i also did a game (four!) in delphi with delphix and i followed a small course about SDL at school. so i'm not a total newbie but for sure i don't know that much. i read the beginners guide on the site resources and it was interesting. then i went over the others faq and it was all about graphic/sound/net etc. i know them are necessary for gaming but now i'm more interested in the pure code of the game to understand it deeply and make my ideas work before of making graphics etc. i'm reading a bit quake1 source code and i can understand it quite well. but is for sure a bit project with many files and i want to start with the core only of the game. what do you suggest me? i hope i was clear. sorry if there are errors in my english :)

Advertisement
Although you are not a total beginner, I suggest starting from the beginning. You didn't say how long ago you used to program, but unless it was fairly recent I suggest you pick up a good book which covers the majority of the programming language you want to learn, it will be worthwhile even if you will only use it as a reference book. The choice of language should be made on the type of game you would like to create, but it sounds like you should try C or C++. If you are confident enough already with these languages you may want to learn how to setup a window using the WINAPI, and after that begin learning how to create an engine for your game.

well, i started programming 4 years ago, and it's 3 years i use all java, c/c++ and php.