• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
darenking

SOLVED, C++, how do I access the '[ ]' thingy if the vector was passed as a wotsit?

This topic is 4838 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

OK, so I'm not very good at terminology, but I know what I mean. I have an object, World, that has vectors of various different things, and I'm creating a new object called Create that loads data from a file and uses the data to create objects in the World object. Anyway, the World object passes the addresses of some of its objects to Create like this: Create* create = new Create(); // I assume this is the best way to create the object? create->File(&m_Maze, &m_Characters, &m_Tiles); These objects are members of World, so in world.h we have: Maze m_Maze; vector<Character*> m_Characters; vector<BITMAP*> m_Tiles; //Allegro bitmaps They are received by Create like this: Create::File(Maze* const maze, vector<Character*>* const characters, vector<BITMAP*>* const tiles); (If anyone thinks I've done this wrong let me know but it seems to work...) And stored in Create like this: m_pMaze = maze; m_pCharacters = characters; m_pTiles = tiles; This all works fine, and I can add tiles to the m_pTiles vector like this: m_pTiles->push_back( create_bitmap( TILE_WIDTH, TILE_HEIGHT ) ); But I get an error about 'cannot convert' something or other when I try access elements in the vectors as though they were arrays: m_pTiles[tile] eg using Allegro drawing commands: putpixel( m_pTiles[tile], x, y, colour ); I'm sure there must be a simple explanation! [Edited by - darenking on August 20, 2005 1:45:32 PM]

Advertisement
Solution:

putpixel( m_pTiles->at( tile ), x, y, colour );

But I'm not going to touch on the good and the bad with a long pole. Greetz,

Illco

you can't use the bracket operator on a pointer (well... yeah but it is not what you want).