• Advertisement
Sign in to follow this  
jjd

[java] contingent tests in junit

This topic is 4833 days old which is more than the 365 day threshold we allow for new replies. Please post a new topic.

If you intended to correct an error in the post then please contact us.

Hi, I'm not very experienced with unit testing and this question might highlight that [smile] I have a class that contains a list of objects. There is an add() method, which puts stuff into the list, and a get() method that... well, gets the stuff from the list. What I don't understand about JUnit is how to create an object for testing so that I can test if the get() method works. I also need to test whether the add() method works... but they seem contingent on one another (i.e. if one doesn't work, you can't really trust the other). So is there are correct way to approach this problem? -Josh

Advertisement
Expose the underlying, tested container by making it protected (package level accessible) and including the tests in the same package. You can then test the add and get methods independently of one another.

as for creating objects, look into a concept called mock objects.

unit testing usually leads to an interface heavy design, specifically for this mock object purpose. this isn't necessarily bad.

It's easier to think about in terms of writing test cases than thinking about testing functions. Your first unit test will probably be just add a single item and see if you get it back. Then add two items and see if you get them both back. Then maybe be wild and test five items. Or a mix of adding and getting. If they all work then chances are both functions work. If they don't, then you get the fun job of debugging. The point is since the functions are designed to be used together, then they should be tested together.